Minutes of the first IAG Council meeting

Dept of Education, Room 3 Perugia. Time: Monday, July 2, 2007, 14.00 -15.30

A total of 27 countries were represented.

The list of representatives and countries present at the meeting is found in Appendix 1.

1) Welcome

The IAG president G. Beutler welcomed the representatives from 27 countries participating at the meeting.

2) Perugia Organization

C. C. Tscherning presented the IAG program for the IUGG 24th General Assembly

C. C. Tscherning informed the Council that proceedings from the geodesy sessions will be published by Springer Verlag, and that at least 100 participants should sign op for the proceedings in order to avoid a deficit (concerning the publication of proceedings) for IAG.

3) Appointment of Audit committee

The national representatives from Poland, Norway and Portugal were elected as the members of the Audit committee.

4) Appointment of resolution committee

M. Sideris, (chair-Canada), C. Boucher (France) and D. Blitzkow (Brazil) were elected by the IAG Council for the resolution committee. Resolution should be carried forward to IAG and IUGG on July, 10th at the latest.

5) IAG Budget proposal 07-11

C. C. Tscherning presented the budget for IAG for the period 2007-2010.

6) IAG awards: Levallois Medal, Bomford Prize

The Levallois medal 2007 is presented at the opening ceremony to C. C. Tscherning, for his outstanding contribution to geodesy. F. Sanso reads the Laudadio.

The Guy Bomford price is presented at the opening ceremony to Dr Masato Furuya for his outstanding and very broad work in geodey and the geophysical interpretation of data and result.

7) Review of election procedures and new IAG EC members

FS presented the final report of the IAG nomination committee. (L P Fortes, R. Rummel, C. Wilson and F. Sanso - chair)

The new members of the IAG-EC will be.

President:	M. Sideris
Secretary General:	H. Drewes
Vice president:	C. Rizos
President of commission 1.	Z. Altamimi
President of commission 2.	Y. Fukuda
President of commission 3.	M. Bevis
President of commission 4.	S. Verhagen
Members at large:	R. Wonnacott, K. Heki
Service representatives:	R. Neilan, S. Kenyon, M. Rothacher
President of the COB	J. Adam
Past president:	G. Beutler

The election procedure will in future be modified in such a way that the final nomination will contain only one name for each candidate and the candidates must choose in case of double nomination. Pending on the approval of the new Statutes and ByLaws, the GGOS Chair will be appointed as member of the new EC.

8) Change of Statutes and By-laws: Presentation and procedures

K.-P. Schwarz presented the list of changes to the IAG Status and By-Laws which had been distributed prior to the Council meeting. A summary of the changes was distributed for information.

V. Dehant (Belgium) proposed the motion: Change the name of Commission 3 from "Geodynamics" back to its old name "Geodynamics and Earth Rotation". After a discussion the motion was carried by the Council.

V. Dehant (Belgium) proposed the motion: "The IAG COB president is a voting member of the EC. After a discussion the motion was carried by the Council.

V. Dehant (Belgium) proposed the motion: Delete the sentence on the committee adopting / rejecting abstracts for IAG meeting. After a discussion the motion was carried by the Council.

The three motions were carried by clear majorities.

Monday, July 9, 18 – 20.

1. Report of Audit Committee.

The report (Appendix 1) was presented by B.Bye, and accepted by the Council.

2. Approval of Budget.

The budget (Appendix 2) was approved unanimously

3. IAG Representatives.

No representatives needed to be appointed

4. Venue of scientific assembly 2009.

CCT presented a comparison between the 4 proposed sites. After a clarification of various items like visa problems, a secret ballot was made. The result is: Argentine 13, Colombia 2, Turkey 11, USA 8. So the meeting will take place in Argentine.

5. Adoption of changes to statutes and by-laws.

The proposed changes in the IAG statutes and bylaws were presented by the committee chaired by KPS. The changes resulting from the previous Council meeting were adopted.

VD made the motion that in the case of a tie in the mail ballot the IAG president should break the tie (same procedure as in Council meetings). The motion was carried with one abstention (everybody else in favor).

VD made the motion that "persons being nominated for more than one position in the nomination process for the EC, have to make a choice for the position they want to apply for in the election". The motion was also unanimously adopted.

A motion clarifying the mutual role of the national correspondent and the delegate (national corresponent votes in elections) was adopted with 1 vote against.

A motion was proposed to use the original name of Commission 4, which did not include the word "engineering". The motion was adopted with 1 against, 4 abstained, all other in favor.

The statutes were then approved with all amendments the Council carried in its two meetings in Perugia with 1 vote against, all other in favor. The by-laws were approved unanimously.

The full text of the approved statutes and by-laws is included in Appendix 3.

6. Approval and continuation or establishment on Inter Commission Committee(s) and /or Projects.

The ICCT will continue with Nico Sneeuw as president and Pavel Novak as vice-president.

7. Resolutions.

A resolution with thanks to the host of the Central Bureau and to its staff was adopted by acclamation.

A resolution urging the operators of GNNS to put Laser retro-reflectors on the GNSS satellites was adopted unanimously.

The Council submitted three resolutions to the IUGG resolution committee. One resolution endorses IAU resolutions (taken a few years ago by IAU), the t second endorsees the GGOS and the third endorses the GTRS and ITRS.

Should the resolutions not be adopted by IUGG, they will be send to the Council (National Correspondents) for approval as IAG resolutions.

The full text of the resolutions is contained in Appendix 4.

8. AOB.

CCT was elected as Honorary Secretary General of IAG and GB as Honorary President of IAG.

Minutes taken at first Council meeting by Ole B. Andersen and at second meeting by C.C.Tscherning.

File name: IAG-Council1-minutes_rev2.doc, July 16, 2007.